13 Comments
Sep 10, 2021Liked by Louisa Nicola

I have not gotten a Whoop/Oura as I'm not sure if finding out the results of my REM sleep % will actually make me more stressed and worsen my sleep. I follow proper sleep hygiene, but somehow just don't get quality sleep I feel. not sure if knowing the exact % will actually help?

Expand full comment
Sep 10, 2021Liked by Louisa Nicola

I use AutoSleep app with the Apple Watch. The readiness score which combines waking HRV and pulse is a remarkably accurate indicator of how ‘fresh’ I feel. It’s not the most reliable of setups because some nights (once a week) it fails to track anything.

Expand full comment

I use a whoop with a Chilipad. Will upgrade to Eight Sleep when I settle into a full apartment.

I find it pretty good for tracking at the extremes. I mainly look at HRV and the long run trend on RHR. One thing I’ve noticed is neither HRV nor my whoop recovery score map as well to cognitive sharpness as physical performance. I had a 71% recovery today and feel physically great but mentally sharp and not fully refreshed.

Expand full comment
Sep 9, 2021Liked by Louisa Nicola

I’ve been using an Oura, love it! I’ve really been focusing on sleep, helps me to see what works and what doesn’t; tracking both REM/DEEP, not to mention HRV. I also love that I can place it in airplane mode when I sleep.

Expand full comment
Sep 9, 2021Liked by Louisa Nicola

I don't use a sleep tracking device due to concerns over EMFs. Is that a legit concern?

Expand full comment
Sep 9, 2021Liked by Louisa Nicola

I am using a Galaxy Active 2 to track my sleep. I find it to be unreliable in terms of the quality of sleep it tracks. For example, it says I have not experienced any deep sleep in more than 90 days. I very pretty much decided that data is unreliable, and instead just focus on eating the 7 hour target I have set for myself. Any suggestions?

Expand full comment