10 Comments

I do not believe everybody -senior person can sleep 6 hours continuously, but instead 4-5hours sleep and get up for toilet, and 2-3 hours additional sleep. My case is 4-5 hours sleep, toilet, and back to bed for additional 1-3 hours morning time sleep. I feel the breathing method before bed, makes the difference to the length of sleep. One deep quick- inhale, and about 8 seconds to exhale very slowly. This

Sleep Breathe method is from Japan, and is doing good thing for my sound sleep. We do not think DNA changed, but neuron network via synaps should be connected and network becomes highway-traffic like communication and cognitive capability can be increased. We use NeuroTracker for cognitive enhancement. Ask me questions to nakaoryuzo@nakaointl.com

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2021Liked by Louisa Nicola

I think that I have always needed 8 hours of sleep. As a pre-pubescent teen, I got migraines if I didn't get enough sleep. Those (THANKFULLY) went away for many years. In college, I "functioned" on 5-6 hours a night, but I would sleep 10-12 hours one the weekends as catch-up. In my 40's now, I have to get 7-8 hours of sleep to feel my best. If I get 8hr, I feel 1000% better the next day, aren't as drowsy, and can focus better. I use the Sleep+ app and my Apple watch to monitor my sleep and help me stay on target.

Expand full comment

If I have high quality (no alcohol, cool temperature) sleep, I can function on 6 from time to time. More than infrequently and that little sleep wears me down. I feel awful sleeping 6 if I have poor quality sleep or haven't slept well lately. I try to get 8 hours of actual sleep and end up somewhere around 7:30

Expand full comment

Curious to know if this study controlled for sleep quality. My suspicion is that total REM sleep and deep sleep is a more accurate predictor of gene regulation. When I get 6 hours of good-quality sleep I wake up feeling great.

Expand full comment

As a women in her early 50s, sleep is something I struggle now. I've always been someone who sleeps a lot. When I competed in triathlon, cycling etc. I used to sleep 10+ hours easy. Now, my sleep is interrupted with hot flashes, hip pain, numb hands, you name it. It's a struggle to get a solid nights sleep. I stay in bed well over 8 hours/night but it's not like I'm asleep throughout. I wonder how many premenopausal zombies are out there like me...

Expand full comment